Today the list of nominees for the 2016 Ballon d’Or was announced, and among the likes of Leo Messi, Neymar Jr, Cristiano Ronaldo and Luis Suarez, two of last season’s unlikely stars is Leicester’s own Jamie Vardy and Riyad Mahrez.

In last season’s success, both Vardy and Mahrez stood out a mile and were both key players in their title-winning campaign.

Michael Regan/Getty Images Sport

Last season Jamie Vardy managed to secure the Premier League player of the year, and joint second in the goalscoring charts alongside Sergio Aguero with 24 goals and one goal off Harry Kane.

He also broke Ruud Van Nistelrooy’s record of scoring in 11 consecutive games. Vardy has had a slow start this season after signing a new contract with Leicester over the summer.

Mahrez was just as vital in the title challenge and won the PFA player of the year award.